YIN
YIN

| Young Investigator Network

Young Group Leaders

Young Investigator Network

Young Group Leaders

List (alphabetical)

Click on the name to get more information.

Murad Alim

String Mathematics
Geometry of quantum field and string theories
Group: DFG Emmy Noether Group (University Hamburg)

Hamburg

murad.alim@uni-hamburg.de

Till Bargheer

Mathematical Physics
Integrable structures and exact methods in gauge and string theory
Group: DFG Emmy Noether Group

Hamburg

till.bargheer@desy.de

Katharina Behr

Particle Physics
Data analysis and pattern recognition in high energy physics; ATLAS experiment at CERN’s LHC
Group: Helmholtz YIG (DESY and University Hamburg)

Hamburg

katharina.behr@desy.de

Irene Fernandez-Cuesta

Nanotechnology
Single molecule detection using nano/optics and nanofluidics. DNA analysis.
Group: ERC starting grant (Centre for Hybrid Nanostructures, CHyN, INF, University Hamburg)

Hamburg

ifernand@physnet.uni-hamburg.de

Oliver Gerberding

Physics
Gravitational wave detection
Group: Junior Professor (University Hamburg)

Hamburg

oliver.gerberding@physik.uni-hamburg.de

Daria Gorelova

Light-Matter interaction
Explore opportunities to use x-ray light to observe electron and spin dynamics in real time and on atomic scale
Group: Freigeist Fellowship, Volkswagen Foundation

Hamburg

darya.gorelova@uni-hamburg.de

Sarah Heim

Particle Physics
Higgs and dark matter with the ATLAS detector at the LHC
Group: Helmholtz YIG (DESY and University Hamburg)

Hamburg

sheim@cern.ch

Andreas Hinzmann

Particle Physics
Signatures of physics beyond the Standard Model with highly boosted W,Z and Higgs bosons detected by CMS experiment at the LHC
Group: DFG Emmy Noether Group (University Hamburg)

Hamburg

andreas.hinzmann@uni-hamburg.de

Julian Holstein

Mathematics
Algebraic Geometry and Topology
Group: Junior Professor (University Hamburg)

Hamburg

julian.holstein@uni-hamburg.de

Abideh

Jafari

Particle Physics
Interactions between heavy particles, most notably the top quark and interpretations of its properties in the context of the effective field theory at CMS
Group: Helmholtz YIG (DESY)

Hamburg

abideh.jafari@desy.de

Gregor Kasieczka

Particle Physics
Searches for exotic new particles at the LHC, Deep learning in physics
Group: Juniorprofessor and DFG Emmy Noether Group (University Hamburg)

Hamburg

gregor.kasieczka@uni-hamburg.de

Thomas J Lane

Biophysics
Structural dynamics: structure and dynamics of photoactive proteins
Group: Helmholtz Young Investigator Group (CUI/AIM)

Hamburg

thomas.lane@desy.de

Manuel Meyer

Physics
Astroparticle physics
Gamma-ray astronomy, dark matter searches, axions and axion-like particles
Group: ERC starting grant

Hamburg

manuel.meyer@desy.de

Sven Möller

Mathematics
Vertex algebras, representation theory, conformal field theory, automorphic forms, infinite dimensional Lie algebras
Group: DFG Emmy Noether Group (University Hamburg)

Hamburg

math@moeller-sven.de

Anna Nelles

Astroparticle Physics
Radio detection of ultra-high energy neutrinos
Group: Emmy-Noether group leader, W2 Prof Erlangen

Zeuthen

anna.nelles@desy.de

Priscilla Pani

Particle Physics
Dark Matter searches with the ATLAS experiment. Focus on heavy flavour final states
Group: YIG (DESY Zeuthen)

Zeuthen

priscilla.pani@desy.de

Thore Posske

Condensed Matter Physics
Topological states of matter, Kondo effect, quantum computing, Majorana fermions, quantum magnetism, topological magnetism
Group: Excellence cluster junior group, CUI:AIM

Hamburg

tposske@physnet.uni-hamburg.de

David Reutter

Mathematics
Higher category theory, topological quantum field theory, quantum algebra, homotopy theory, low-dimensional topology, representation theory and mathematical physics
Group: DFG Emmy Noether, Quantum Universe

Hamburg

david.reutter@uni-hamburg.de

Andrea Thorn

Structural Biology
Methods for the solution of macromolecular structures by Cryo-EM and X-ray crystallgraphy, AI, Coronavirus, diffraction data quality
Group: junior group at HARBOR/DFG and BMBF ErUM

Hamburg

andrea.thorn@uni-hamburg.de

Philipp Wessels-Staarmann

Atomic Physics
Interfacing ultracold quantum gases with ultrafast physics
Group: AIM YIG (University Hamburg)

Hamburg

philipp.wessels-staarmann@uni-hamburg.de